You Say Goodbye, I Say High-Low

Back when I was a junior at a college with a strict dress-code, I remember standing in a Target, debating with myself about whether or not to buy a green high-low skirt (if anyone does not know, a high-low hem is one that is high in the front and, well, low in the back). This particular skirt was knee-lenth in the front, and almost ankle-leth in the back. I wasn’t really sure how I felt about the high-low trend back then, when it was new-  I thought that perhaps this was a trend that I would just let pass by. But the kelly-green chiffon I held in my hand was so pretty, and it fit the dress-code, and well, maybe the hem length just made it a little more…interesting?

I wore it to class with trepidation, but when my purple-skinny-jean-leather-sneaker-wearing classmate said “cool skirt!”, I relaxed a little. Even if it wasn’t the most classic or elegant silhouette, at least it was “cool”. It wasn’t until later that day when my then-boyfriend called it a “tail” that I decided this style was the worst. I got a friend to hem it evenly, and even though the skirt lost some of its magic, I thought it was all for the best.

Fast forward two and a half years to when I am rifling through a Buffalo Exchange in Georgetown, and I come across a blue-green crochet-style dress that I think is perfect…until I pull it the rest of the way off the rack and see the hem. High-low. Not quite as high, or as low, as my last one, but still. Maybe I shouldn’t even bother. But the $16 price got the better of me, and I soon found myself in the dressing room, stunned by how much I liked it. In fact, I liked the style so much that I considered designing my wedding dress with a high-low hem:

IMG_2723
After drawing this, I decided that I need to get married all over again.

 

Now, the moral of ths story isn’t to say that you must like high-low hemlines, although I think they can be really elegant and lovely,and the pictures below are meant to convince you to like them. It is to say that even if you don’t like some of the more outlandish iterations of a style, that does not mean that you won’t absolutely love a more toned-down version! The trick is to give it a chance. Also, ignore anyone who complains that you have a tail. They’re just jealous.

IMG_2572IMG_2573IMG_2574IMG_2575IMG_2585IMG_2602IMG_2615IMG_2618IMG_2637IMG_2638IMG_2629IMG_2625IMG_2606IMG_2642IMG_2644IMG_2640IMG_2647IMG_2656IMG_2660IMG_2666IMG_2670IMG_2674IMG_2685IMG_2688IMG_2686IMG_2699IMG_2704IMG_2717

IMG_2722
Me and The Photographer

Shop the Look

High-Low dress, old, but similar available here , here, or here.

H&M Tassel Earrings sold out, similar available here, here

The Limited loepard clutch, old, similar available here or here

Kelly and Katie sandals, old, similar available here.

Yours, Margaret

 

4 thoughts on “You Say Goodbye, I Say High-Low

  1. Wow…really beautiful photos!!!

    On Mon, Jun 20, 2016 at 9:12 PM Sticks and Style wrote:

    > Margaret Gotcher posted: “Back when I was a junior at a college with a > strict dress-code, I remember standing in a Target, debating with myself > about whether or not to buy a green high-low skirt (if anyone does not > know, a high-low hem is one that is high in the front and, well, l” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

