Summer Blues

Well, since this is allegedly a style blog, I guess I had better get posting some clothes. I am going to ease into adventurousness with a widely-accepted style. This look is something that’s been going on for a while now, but has taken me a looong time to try out. Denim on denim! I remember when it first began- I saw models strutting through magazines wearing jackets the exact same color of their pants. “Weird,” I thought. I had always been told that denim on denim was a fashion faux pas, and the evidence to the contrary was not particularly convincing. My sisters laughed at the trend, and recalled many terrible denim getups of the late 80’s and early 90’s. Based on some of the outfits I had seen in our home videos, these indeed were no eras to try and duplicate.

985dc867f544dd600150465133bfca65
If only our home videos had such style!

But once my good friend chambray became a ubiquity, I finally understood. Light denim on slightly darker denim? How simple, how lovely, how chic! In a Stitch Fix Instagram, I saw it taken one step further – white denim on light denim on dark denim! Yes, I thought! Amazing! My coat in these pictures is actually a corduroy jacket from the Gap, but I think it gives much the same impression. (Old Navy has crisp white jean jackets and light chambray shirts  at fabulous prices right now :D) And since we’re stacking blue on blue, why not a blue purse? It adds a little pop of color, without ruining the simplicity of the look. (Find similar here.)

But, you know, rainbow things are also all the rage, so…yes, a confetti-colored necklace is just the thing to finish this outfit off. It’s yet another example of something that I loved in middle-school and am getting the chance to revive.(Find similar here.) But I’ve never really been a big believer in “fashions”. I think that if something is truly beautiful now, it should still be fabulous in a few years! But, as they say, the proof is in the pudding, so without further ado: pictures!

IMG_2315[1]IMG_2316[1]IMG_2328[1]IMG_2322[1]IMG_2324[1]IMG_2342[1]IMG_2344[1]IMG_2352[1]IMG_2354[1]IMG_2358retouched

Do you like to wear denim on denim? Is it too weird for you, or too plain? Would you ever wear the same shades of denim together? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

